Life Skills

COACHING word cloud


Year 9


The AQA Certificate is offered at levels 1 and 2, with level 2 being the equivalent of a GCSE grade C or above.

Candidates must submit evidence for any four units for an Award (below Level 1) and any seven units for a Certificate. In order to gain a Level 2 qualification students will need to complete 7 units, with at least 4 meeting the Level 2 success criteria.

We are offering this course in response to requests from our students who want to study broader issues that will prepare them for life beyond the school curriculum.

Students will be encouraged to work independently to develop a portfolio of evidence from the subject areas below that are of interest to them. The standard of work and number of units they produce will determine the level of qualification they receive.

There are no examinations in this qualification, it is entirely portfolio based, so will suit students who do not perform well in examination conditions.

Unit 1: Personal Action Planning

Unit 2: Drugs Education

Unit 3: Sex and Relationship Education

Unit 4: Personal Finance

Unit 5: Emotional Wellbeing

Unit 6: Healthy Lifestyles

Unit 7: Making Informed Career Choices

Unit 8: Applying for Jobs and Courses

Unit 9: Relationships, Behaviour and Practices in the Workplace

Unit 10: Personal Safety

Unit 11: Being a Critical Consumer

Unit 12: Introduction to Diversity, Prejudice and Discrimination

For more information contact: